top of page

Confirmed: Adam McQuaid is a Vampire


HO-LY JUMPIN. Adam McQuaid you sick bastard. For those of you who haven't seen it yet you're probably wondering "oh god what happened this time? Did he spin another guys head around in a fight? Did he have a once in a blue moon dangle and goal? Did he play through the pain of an injury to one of those sad excuses for legs he has?" No. Adam McQuaid of the Boston Bruins received an emergency mid period tracheotomy on Saturday against the Devils courtesy of David Backes's skate. During a play along the boards in the closing minutes of the game against New Jersey, Backes was upended and his skate hit Adam McQuaid across the neck and by some miracle of the hockey gods, only seemed to cut about a millimeter deep. Now I was expecting shades of Zednik, I mean I'm talking 'follow the bloody red road' kind of stuff but it couldn't have gone less in that fashion. McQuaid finished the shift, I'm assuming on the adrenaline from the fear of imminent death alone. McQuaid was quoted as saying "I didn't see any blood pouring out or spewing anywhere so I figured everything was okay". I mean I guess? I don't know what McQuaid's definition of fine is but for me at least I draw the line somewhere around near decapitation but hey, that's why I play volleyball I guess. Not a lot of jugular related injuries on the court. But seriously this was scary and I'm curious if the NHL is gonna look more into preventing these types of injuries. The only theory I can come up with is that McQuaid must be some type of vampire or something or just doesn't have an ounce of blood in his body, which would explain the pale skin. Gets you thinking. But honestly McQuaid you're a beast. A sick freak. But a beast none the less. Now here's to hoping his legs hold up as well as his esophagus did. Long live FrankenQuaid. (Video courtesy of "The Mook")


BEST GAMES THIS WEEK:

#1 

Green Bay @ Dallas

1/15 4:25pm

 

#2

Pittsburgh @ Kansas City 

1/15 8:15pm

 

#3

Seattle @ Atlanta 

1/14 4:05pm

bottom of page